How Did I Get Here?

Sometimes, even with the best intentions, we end up in a place we don’t want to be.

It hits out of seemingly nowhere and we realize we made a wrong turn along the way or we chose not to believe our actions would dictate our path.

We ask ourselves, “how did I get here?”

In my life, I see this most frequently in my weight loss journey or patience level with my children, but it can pop up in any number of situations. I recently had a conversation with a friend and they uttered the same phrase.

How did I get here?

When we take our eyes off the lamp at our feet and fix them on the sparkle of society’s surface, we get there.

Psalm 119:105
Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.

When we believe the lies that Satan feeds our heart and fail to embrace the promises of our Heavenly Father, we get there.

Isaiah 41:10
So do not fear, for I am with you; do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

When we allow the joy of our days to be overshadowed by the pain, we get there.

James 1:2-3
Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith produces perseverance.

When we harbor anger and ill-will opposed to letting go, we get there.

Colossians 3:13
Bear with each other and forgive one another if any of you has a grievance against someone. Forgive as the Lord forgave you.

Our path here on Earth is not meant to be paved in perfection. We’re flawed beings in a constant battle of right and wrong. That won’t ever go away … and neither will God’s unending grace and love.

When you don’t know how you got there, turn your eyes up to the only one who can get you back.

Psalm 105:4
Look to the LORD and his strength; seek his face always

One Comment on “How Did I Get Here?

Leave a comment